Join | Contact Us | FAQ | Print Page | Sign In
Teaching Award Winners

This award was inaugurated in 2011 for outstanding work in innovative teaching in the music history/music appreciation classroom. See the guidelines for full details.


2018 Erinn Knyt (UMass Amherst) for “Teaching Music History to Graduate Students”
2017 Elizabeth Wells (Mount Allison University) for "Foundation Courses in Music History: A Case Study"
2016 Louis Epstein (St. Olaf College) for The Musical Geography of 1920s Paris (
2015 Estelle Joubert (Dalhousie University) for her project "Music in the Global Eighteenth Century: A New Course Proposal."
2014 James Grymes (University of North Carolina, Charlotte), "Integrating Composition and Improvisation into the Study of Twentieth-Century Music"
2013 Eric Hung (Westminster Choir College of Rider University), "Incorporating Local Musics in the Undergraduate Music History Curriculum"
2012 Kimberly A. Francis (University of Guelph), to further develop Critical Voices: The University of Guelph Book Review Project, an online journal and teaching tool.
See the report of this project published in the Journal of Music History Pedagogy 4/1 (2013): "E-Publishing in the Undergraduate Music History Classroom: The University of Guelph Book Review Project"
2011 Alice V. Clark (Loyola University of New Orleans), for her project "Web-based Guillaume de Machaut Teaching Module"
See the current module (still in progress) via this link