Join | Contact Us | FAQ | Print Page | Sign In
AMS Awards 2019

Awards presented at the Boston Annual Meeting

Honorary members elected: Anna Maria Busse Berger and Josephine Wright

Corresponding members elected: Daniel Leech-Wilkinson and Suk Won Yi

Kinkeldey Award (best book by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Laurie Stras
For: Women and Music in 16th Century Ferrara 

Lockwood Award (best book by scholar in early stages):

 To: Karen Desmond

 For: Music and the moderni, 1300-1350: The ars nova in Theory and Practice


Slim Award (best article by scholar beyond early stages):


To: Roger Freitas

For: “Adelina Patti and the Performance of Femininity”

Einstein Award (best article by scholar in early stages):

To: Daniel M. Callahan
For: “The Gay Divorce of Music and Dance: Choreomusicality and the Early Works of Cage-Cunningham”

Palisca Award (best edition or translation):

To: Lyn and Lawrence Schenbeck
For: Noble Sissle and Eubie Blake, Shuffle Along!

Solie Award (outstanding collection of essays):

To: Robert Fink, Melinda Latour, and Zachary Wallmark 
For: The Relentless Pursuit of Tone: Timbre in Popular Music 

Stevenson Award (outstanding scholarship in Iberian music):

To: Jason Borge
For: Tropical Riffs: Latin America and the Politics of Jazz

Music in American Culture Award (outstanding scholarship in music of the United States):

To: Sandra Jean Graham
For: Spirituals and the Birth of a Black Entertainment Industry

RIPM/Cohen Award (outstanding scholarship related to periodical publications)

To: Federico Lazzaro

For: Écoles de Paris en musique, 1920-1950: identités, nationalisme, cosmopolitisme

Roland Jackson Award (music analysis):

To: Steven Vande Moortele
For: “Murder, Trauma, and the Half-Diminished Seventh Chord in Schoenberg’s ‘Song of the Wood Dove” 


Greenberg Award (outstanding performance projects):

To: Robert Crowe and Joachim Enders
For: “The Art of the Romantic Castrato: ornamented songs and arias of the last operatic castrato, Giambattista Velluti”


Thomas Hampson Award (classic song)

To: Joshua Neumann
For: “Creating Schubert's Winterreise in performance with Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau”

Early Music Award

To: Catherine A. Bradley
For: “Polyphony in Medieval Paris: The Art of Composing with Plainchant”

Judy Tsou Critical Race Studies Award

To: Ashon T. Crawley
For: “Black Pentecostal Breath: The Aesthetics of Possibility

Paul A. Pisk Prize (outstanding paper at annual meeting by graduate student):

To: Gabrielle Cornish
For: “Synthesized Socialism: Soviet Modernity, Electronic Music, and the Politics of Timbre in the Early Cold War”

AMS Teaching Award

To: Carol A. Hess
For: Experiencing Latin American Music 

Administered by the LGBTQ Study Group:

Philip Brett Award (oustanding work in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender/transsexual studies):

To: Alejandro Madrid
For: “Secreto a Voces: Excess, Performance, and Jotería in Juan Gabriel’s Vocality”

To: Daniel M. Callahan
For: “The Gay Divorce of Music and Dance: Choreomusicality and the Early Works of Cage-Cunningham”