Join | Contact Us | FAQ | Print Page | Sign In
AMS Awards 2018

Awards presented at the San Antonio Annual Meeting

Honorary member elected: Margaret Murata

Corresponding members elected: Juan José Carreras, Daniel Chua, and Elżbieta Witkowska-Zaremba

Kinkeldey Award (best book by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Karol Berger
For: Beyond Reason: Wagner contra Nietzsche


Lockwood Award (best book by scholar in early stages):


 To: Seth Brodsky

 For: From 1989, or European Music and the Modernist Unconscious


Slim Award (best article by scholar beyond early stages):


To: Jennifer Saltzstein

For: “Rape and Repentance in Two Medieval Motets”

Einstein Award (best article by scholar in early stages):

To: Sean Curran
For: “Hockets Broken and Integrated in Early Mensural Theory and an Early Motet”

Palisca Award (best edition or translation):

To: Michael Ochs
For: Joseph Rumshinsky: Di goldene kale

Solie Award (outstanding collection of essays):

To: Severine Neff, Maureen Carr, and Gretchen Horlacher
For: The Rite of Spring at 100 

Stevenson Award (outstanding scholarship in Iberian music):

To: Clinton D. Young
For: Music Theatre and Popular Nationalism in Spain, 1880-1930

Music in American Culture Award (outstanding scholarship in music of the United States):

To: Nancy Yunhwa Rao
For: Chinatown Opera Theatre in North America

RIPM/Cohen Award (outstanding scholarship related to periodical publications)

To: Douglas Shadle

For: Orchestrating the Nation: The Nineteenth-Century American Symphonic Enterprise [Oxford]

Roland Jackson Award (music analysis):

To: Clare Bokulich
For: “Contextualizing Josquin’s Ave Maria . . . virgo serena"

Greenberg Award (outstanding performance projects):

To: Rebecca Cypess
For: “Sisters, Face to Face: The Bach Legacy in Women's Hands”

Thomas Hampson Award (classic song)

To: Marquita Lister and Louise Toppin
For: “The Art Songs of African Poets and Arranged Spirituals for a New Generation”

Judy Tsou Critical Race Studies Award

To: Marta Robertson
For: “Ballad for Incarcerated Americans: Second Generation Japanese American Musicking in World War II Camps”

Paul A. Pisk Prize (outstanding paper at annual meeting by graduate student):

To: Jessica Gabriel Peritz
For: “Luigia Todi’s Timbre: The Enlightening “Social Utility” of Female Voice in 1790s Italy”

To: Caitlin Schmid 
For: “Ice Music, Ice Cello, Iced Bodies: Reinterpreting Charlotte Moorman’s Avant-Garde (1972-2018)"

AMS Teaching Award

To: Erinn Knyt
For: “Teaching Music History to Graduate Students”

Administered by the LGBTQ Study Group:

Philip Brett Award (oustanding work in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender/transsexual studies):

The Philip Brett Award proceedings were delayed last year and so the 2018 and 2019 winners will be announced at the 2019 Annual Meeting.