Join | Contact Us | FAQ | Print Page | Sign In
The Roland Jackson Award

Thanks to a generous bequest by long-time AMS member Roland Jackson, the American Musicological Society has instituted the Roland Jackson Award. It will recognize an article in the English language of exceptional merit in the field of music analysis by a scholar who is a member of the AMS or a citizen or permanent resident of Canada or the United States.

The award will be made according to three separate subject categories, in successive years, as follows:

  • music from circa 1800 to the present
  • music circa 1600 to 1800
  • music before 1600

In the current year of the award (2020), articles on music from circa 1600 to 1800 published in 2017, 2018, and 2019 are eligible. (To inaugurate the award in 2016, articles on music from 1800 to the present that were published in 2014 and 2015 were eligible. In the second year of the award (2017), articles on music from 1600 to 1800 published in 2014, 2015, and 2016 were eligible. In the third year of the award (2018), articles on music before 1600 published in 2015, 2016, and 2017 were eligible.)

The award will be made in each subject category once every three years and articles published during the previous three years will be eligible.

The committee, consisting of five scholars, chooses a single winner from among all the candidates. The winner receives a monetary prize and a certificate, conferred at the Annual Business Meeting and Awards Presentation of the Society by the chair of the committee. An article may receive only one AMS award.

Anyone may submit a nomination. Nominations, including self-nominations, must be submitted by 1 May 2020.

Please use this form to submit your nomination.