Join | Contact Us | FAQ | Print Page | Sign In
NYU-AMS Lecture, 2019

Session Players: Latina Music Critics at Work

21 February 2019

5-6:30 p.m.

New York University

Provincetown Playhouse (133 MacDougal Street)

Reception to follow at 6:45

(The reception venue is a two-block walk along the south side of Washington Square Park.)

Alexandra Vazques Licia Fiol-Matta Deborah Vargas

Join feminist Latina scholars of music Alexandra Vazques, Licia Fiol-Matta, and Deborah Vargas as they propose departure points for theorizing the musics made across the Americas.  Together with the panelists, the audience is invited to take in sounds across various Latinate genres and geographies; to imagine what they demand of listening practices and what they offer to counterpublic collectives; and to experience the wonder of being with music with a primarily feminist ethos.  The panelists will explore and advocate for the “impermissible” practices of Latina feminist music criticism, including experimental forms of writing meant to blow open the constraints imposed by “regional” thinking  and to play with materials suspicious of (and to) archives.

Professor Alexandra Vazquez of NYU's Department of Performance Studies and author of Listening in Detail: Performances of Cuban Music,  will both moderate and participate in this exciting conversation. She will be joined by Professor Licia Fiol-Matta of NYU's Department of Spanish and Portuguese, author of The Great Female Singer: Gender and Voice in Puerto Rican Music, and Professor Deborah Vargas, Henry T Rutgers Term Chair in Comparative Sexuality, Gender and Race at Rutgers, author of Dissonant Divas in Chicana Music.

Admission is free, and open to the public.

Provincetown Playhouse is at 345 MacDougal St at the corner of Washington Square South, a 5 minute walk from the West 4th St station on the A/B/C/D/E/F. Doors open at 4:30. A reception will follow at 35 West 4th St, Room 303.

This event is a joint project of music department in New York University's College of Arts and Science, Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development, Tisch School of the Arts, and the AMS.