Join | Contact Us | FAQ | Print Page | Sign In
The Janet Levy Fund

For Those without Access to Employer-Based Research Funding


The Janet Levy Fund supports professional travel and research expenses for scholars who are members of the American Musicological Society. The award is open to those who hold the Ph.D. or demonstrate equivalency in the scholarly record and who do not have access to employer-based research funding. Present recipients of full-time fellowships, retirees, and those who have received the Ph.D. within the past five years are not eligible for this grant. No individual may receive a Levy Award more than once in a three-year period.

Kinds of Projects: Examples of projects supported by the Levy Fund include travel to the Annual Meeting of the AMS, to a conference to read a paper or participate in an official capacity, or to archives or research libraries; research expenses; costs related to the reproduction of manuscripts and archival documents; and specialized research materials. Award amounts will range between $500 and $2,000. Proposals are evaluated by a committee of three appointed by the AMS president.

Proposal requirements: submit the following:

  • Narrative (500 words maximum) outlining the proposed project and its importance for the applicant's career (be as specific as possible).
  • Proposed budget detailing when and how the funds are to be used.
  • Curriculum vitae (please include a word on how you are currently making a living).
  • One letter of recommendation from a scholar familiar with the applicant's work (to be submitted separately by the referrer, using this form).

Deadline: upload all materials by:

  • 1 April 2020 for travel and research to be undertaken between 1 May 2020 and 30 April 2021.
  • The application form will be available on this page in early March.

Notification of the award will be made about a month following each deadline. Funds must be spent within one year of the award.

Previous Levy Award Winners