Join | Contact Us | FAQ | Print Page | Sign In
AMS Administrative Handbook

Page 28 [Section II.D-E]: [Committees—cont.]

D. Committees Established by the Council

Note: Council developed the Outreach Committee (officially disbanded in 11/03) and Committee on the Program (disbanded in 2000), both of which were both superseded by Board committees, respectively the Committee on Membership and Professional Development and the Board Committee on the Annual Meeting (as successor to the Ad Hoc Committee on the Annual Meeting Program).


E. Committees Established by Chapters, Study Groups and Affiliate Societies

  1. The Philip Brett Award Committee
  2. By-Law definition: [n. a.]

    Charge: The Philip Brett Award is sponsored by the Gay and Lesbian Study Group of the AMS, and, as stated at the Web site, “will honor each year exceptional musicological work in the field of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender/transsexual studies completed during the previous two academic years (ending June 30), in any country and in any language.”

    Constitution and Timetable: The award committee consists of five members appointed by the Gay and Lesbian Study Group Board. The chair of the committee announces the award (which consists of a monetary prize and a certificate) at the Annual Business Meeting and Awards Presentation of the Society, and confers it at the annual meeting of the Gay and Lesbian Study Group of the AMS.

    For further details see