Join | Contact Us | FAQ | Print Page | Sign In
News & Press: AMS Board & Committee News

AMS 2019 Election Results

Tuesday, May 14, 2019  

Steve Swayne, President



Steve Swayne is the Jacob H. Strauss 1922 Professor of Music at Dartmouth College. He completed his Ph.D. at UC Berkeley in 1999; his research has centered on William Schuman, Stephen Sondheim, and other aspects of American music. He has served as AMS Council Secretary for the past four years.

Lydia Hamessley, Secretary



Lydia Hamessley is Professor of Music at Hamilton College. She completed her Ph.D. at the University of Minnesota in 1989; her book Unlikely Angel: The Songs of Dolly Parton is forthcoming with the University of Illinois Press. She is a founding co-chair of the LGBTQ Study Group and active in the New York State-St. Lawrence Chapter.

Joy H. Calico, Director at Large



Joy Calico is Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Music at Vanderbilt University. She completed her Ph.D. at Duke University in 1999; her research interests include Cold War cultural politics and modern opera. She is currently completing a three-year term as Editor-in-Chief of the Society’s journal.

Charles Hiroshi Garrett, Director at Large



Charles Garrett is Professor of Musicology at the University of Michigan. He completed his Ph.D. at UCLA in 2004; he served as Editor of The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (2014). He has served on the Society’s Publications Committee and Howard Mayer Brown Fellowship Committee.

Alejandro L. Madrid, Director at Large



Alejandro Madrid is Professor of Music at Cornell University. He completed his Ph.D. at Ohio State University in 2003; his most recent book is In Search of Julián Carrillo and Sonido 13 (Oxford, 2015). He has served on the Society’s Committee on the Status of Race and Ethnicity in the Profession and the Ruth Solie Award Committee.